Skip links and keyboard navigation

Public Libraries Advisory Group members

Brief biographical details for members of the Public Libraries Advisory Group are listed below.

Stephan Bohnen, Principal Advisor, Intergovernmental Relations, Local Government Association of Queensland

Stephan is Principal Advisor - Intergovernmental Relations with the Local Government Association of Queensland, the peak body representing the state's 77 local governments. A former diplomat, Stephan seeks to build and maintain networks across federal and state government and identify opportunities to ensure the interests and concerns of Queensland local government are reflected in policy formulation. He is part of a team responsible for strategic policy, governance, social policy and environmental issues.

Louise Denoon, Executive Director, Public Libraries and Engagement, State Library of Queensland

Louise has more than 20 years' experience working with cultural institutions, most recently at the State Library of New South Wales and previously as Executive Manager Queensland Memory at State Library of Queensland. Louise also worked at the Museum of Brisbane, Brisbane City Council and Global Arts Link, Ipswich City Council. She is passionate about working with communities and unleashing the potential of Galleries, Libraries, Archives and Museums to meet the challenges of the 21st century.

Craig Doyle, Chief Executive Officer, Mackay Regional Council

Craig has 30 years' experience at management level and holds an MBA in Technology Management, a Post Graduate Diploma in Management and an Associate Diploma in Science. Craig was previously the CEO of Gladstone Ports Corporation for two and a half years and has held senior executive management roles at Wilmar Sugar, Mackay Sugar and Sugar Australia. His key focus is creating environments where changes and continuous improvement can successfully occur in collaboration with staff.

Chris Girdler, Community Services Manager, Moreton Bay Region Libraries

Chris is the Manager of Customer and Cultural Services at Moreton Bay Regional Council where she manages ten libraries, three art galleries, three museums and the Customer Services branch. Chris is passionate about community engagement as part of her Galleries, Libraries and Museums (GL&M) portfolio and continual improvement in customer experience for her region. She is active in public library collaboration; staff education; standards; strategic outcomes and leadership.  She is a member of ALIA and holds an MBA, Graduate Diploma in Library and Information Science and Bachelor of Arts.

Lisa Harth, President, Queensland Public Libraries Association

Lisa was elected President of the Queensland Public Libraries Association (QPLA) in May 2018. Lisa is Library Services Coordinator for the nine library branches of the Western Downs Regional Council, an advocate for regional libraries and looking forward to ‘driving collaboration between rural and metropolitan libraries’. It is the first time in four years that the QPLA President is from a regional area. Lisa was awarded the VALA 2018 Diversity scholarship and was a member of the State Library of Queensland VISION 2017 Review Project Working Group.

Sharan Harvey, Manager Library Services, Brisbane City Council

Sharan is the Manager Library Services in Brisbane City Council. She is a member of the Australian Library and Information Association and the International Federation of Library Associations Metropolitan Libraries Committee. Her areas of special interest include leadership, management, strategic thinking and trend recognition and she has a strong focus on client services, process simplification and productivity. Sharan understands the importance of multiple literacies and growing a love of reading in the community. She has also enjoyed visiting many libraries, big and small, around the world.

Cr Alf Lacey, Mayor, Palm Island Aboriginal Shire Council

Cr Alf Lacey is the returning mayor of Palm Island Aboriginal Shire Council. He began his local government career as the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission regional council member for Townsville Regional Council in 1993, and was first elected mayor of Palm Island in 1994. A returning member the policy executive, Cr Lacey is one of two councillors representing Aurukun, Cherbourg, Doomadgee, Hope Vale, Kowanyama, Lockhart River, Mornington, Napranum, Mapoon, Northern Peninsula Area, Palm Island, Pormpuraaw, Torres Strait Island, Woorabinda, Wujal Wujal and Yarrabah councils.

Cr Julia Leu, Member, Library Board of Queensland (Chair)

Cr Julia Leu was elected Mayor to the new Douglas Shire Council in November 2013, following nearly six years as an independent Councillor with Cairns Regional Council. Cr Leu holds a Masters in Business Administration from James Cook University, a Bachelor of Arts and Graduate Diploma in Education from Melbourne University and a Graduate Diploma in Communications from NSW University of Technology. Her wide experience has included running her own business, being a secondary teacher, lecturer and senior Commonwealth employee in Indigenous, health, housing and community services. Cr Leu is a Director of Tourism Port Douglas Daintree and Terrain Natural Resource Management, a Queensland Executive Member of the Australian Coastal Councils Association, a Committee Member of Regional Development Australia (Far North Queensland & Torres Strait Inc) and an Executive Member of the North Queensland Local Government Association.

Cr Joyce McCulloch, Mount Isa City Council

Cr Joyce McCulloch was elected Mayor to the Mount Isa City Council following four years as a councillor. Cr McCulloch has been awarded a Winston Churchill Memorial Trust Fellowship, holds a diploma of management, was awarded a scholarship with the Australian Institute of Company Directors and graduated as a professional director in 2015. Her councillor responsibilities have included being Chair of the internal Audit Committee, Chair of the Health Portfolio for Council, and representing Mount Isa City Council as a Member of the Riversleigh community Scientific Advisory Committee. Other professional experience includes managing the Mount Isa Rodeo and holding positions on numerous school boards. Cr McCulloch currently holds the elected Chair’s position of the Overlanders Way, and the Chair of the Defence Reserve Support Council for North West Queensland.

Vicki McDonald, State Librarian and Chief Executive Officer

The State Librarian is responsible for the proper and sound management of State Library of Queensland, under the authority of the Library Board of Queensland. The State Librarian provides strategic advice and direction to the Library Board; plans and develops new initiatives, services and programs; manages the resources of the State Library; initiates strategic partnerships and leads the State Library of Queensland.

Under the Libraries Act 1988 (Queensland) [PDF 470 KB], the State Librarian must attend all meetings of the Board unless excused or precluded by the Board.

Michelle Carter, Director, Department of Housing and Public Works

Michelle is responsible for delivering the Queensland Government Digital Economy Strategy and Action Plan and encouraging the use of digital technologies to promote economic growth and improve the lives and lifestyles of Queenslanders. Michelle is working with state and federal partners to improve Queensland’s digital skills and digital inclusion agenda.

Last updated
3rd September 2019